Symposium: Global Coalition on Aging and ADI – 30 Global Cities: Dementia Innovation
Global Coalition on Aging & ADI, supported by Lien Foundation, are delighted to host a Town Hall style symposium looking at the innovation readiness of 30 global cities.

Symposium: Global Coalition on Aging and ADI – 30 Global Cities: Dementia Innovation
Global Coalition on Aging & ADI, supported by Lien Foundation, are delighted to host a Town Hall style symposium looking at the innovation readiness of 30 global cities.

12:50PM to 1:50PM GMT
8:50PM to 9:50PM GMT +8 (Asia/Singapore)
11:50PM to 12:50AM GMT + 11 (Australia/Sydney)
1:50PM to 2:50PM CET (Central European Time)
7:50AM to 8:50AM EST (Eastern Standard Time)

ID:

An expert panel will gather to discuss and take your questions on the Lien Foundation supported report “Dementia Innovation Readiness Index 2020: 30 Global Cities”.

 

  • Melissa Mitchell – Executive Director, Global Coalition on Aging
  • Chris Lynch – Deputy CEO and Director of Policy, Communications & Publications, ADI
  • Prof. Huali Wang – Chair for Clinical Research, Director of the Dementia Care & Research Center, and Associate Director of Beijing Dementia Key Lab, Peking University Institute of Mental Health in Beijing, China
  • George Vradenberg – Convener, The Global CEO Initiative on Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Dr Ricardo Allegri – Instituto de Investigaciones Neurológicas (FLENI), Argentina; Universidad de la Costa (CUC) Colombia
  • MD, Hanadi Hamis Al Hamadm, Hamad Medical Corporation, Doha
  • S Premkumar Raja, Alzheimer’s and Related Disorders Society of India (ARDSI) – Bangalore Chapter & Co-founder, Nightingales Medical Trust, Bangalore, India
  • Kate Swaffer, Founder and CEO of Dementia Alliance International

 

By mid-century, the number of those aged 65 or older set to double, and nearly two-thirds of the world’s population will live in urban areas, up from just over half today. There are over 50 million people living with dementia globally, a figure set to triple by 2050; every 3 seconds someone in the world develops dementia.  Given these shifts across society, the need for local city based leadership to address dementia is clear

 

During COVID-19 we have seen how important cities have been in managing the pandemic. With their large concentration of population, cities have an opportunity and a challenge to drive best practice. 

 

Cities can and should play a vital role in improving dementia diagnosis rates, post-diagnostic support, quality of care, addressing stigma, and crucially in enabling new and existing funding models for dementia research.

 

 

Featured cities:

Amsterdam, Auckland, Bangalore, Bangkok, Beijing, Berlin, Buenos Aires, Cape Town, Copenhagen, Doha, Geneva, Glasgow, Helsinki, Hong Kong, Jakarta, London, Manchester, Mexico City, New York, Paris, Rome, Sao Paolo, Seoul, Singapore, Stockholm, Sydney, Taipei, Tel Aviv, Tokyo and Vancouver.  

 

cbd no A Tagvape no A Tagweight no A Tagmale no A Tag